## Minutes of Faculty Senate 24 April 2015

**Present:** Ambrose, Blanton, Branson, Byrd, Commissiong, Crandall, DeOtte, Diego-Medrano, Dursun-Kilic, Fiaud, Hindman, Klaehn, Lee, Osei-Hwere, Pendleton, Shao, Stuntz, and Takacs

**Absent:** De'Armond, Hartin, and Ottoson

**Guests:** Neil Meredith substituting for De'Armond, Shravan Devkota substituting for Hartin, and Mary Rausch substituting for Ottoson

**Call to Order:** President Ambrose called the meeting to order at 12:18 p.m. in Room 14 (Eternal Flame) of the Jack B. Kelley Student Center.

**Approval of Minutes:** Blanton made a motion seconded by Fiaud to approve as written the minutes of the 10 April 2015 meeting of Faculty Senate. The motion passed unanimously by the Senators present.

Ambrose thanked the Senators for trusting him to represent them as President of Faculty Senate for the past three years. He said new officers will be elected at the next Faculty Senate meeting on Dead Day, 7 May. The continuing and new Senators will vote for the new officers.

Fiaud said the NHS College meeting will be 9 a.m. on 7 May in 37 JBK. Pendleton said the ASE College meeting also will be at 9 a.m. on 7 May in the ANS Building. The FAH College will meet at 10:30 a.m. on 7 May in the FAH Recital Hall. Faculty members in the ESS College are waiting to hear when they will meet, but they usually do not meet on Dead Day.

Ambrose said he talked to Provost Shaffer about division of the College of Agriculture, Science, and Engineering. Shaffer said the new School of Engineering, Computer Science, and Mathematics will act like, but not be called a College yet. The Head of the School will be on Deans Council, and the School will have a budget. Shaffer and Ambrose agreed that each academic unit (College, Program, or School) should have representatives on the university committees and also on Faculty Senate. Ambrose said Shaffer said the new School would become a College when WT has an electrical engineering degree or 1,000 students (there now are 700 students). DeOtte said an electrical engineering degree has been proposed but not approved yet by the Coordinating Board. DeOtte said it was discussed in a Faculty Handbook Committee meeting that Faculty Senate might need a more equitable way for selecting departmental representation on Faculty Senate, and a system similar to a WT faculty House and Senate might be created. Ambrose said Faculty Senate might need to be reorganized so departments with fewer than 12 faculty members have one Senator while those with more than 12 have two representatives. The new

School will have engineering and mathematics divisions, but it has not yet been decided how many departments will be in the College of Agriculture and Science. Commissiong suggested having four Senators like the current minimum. Ambrose said Shaffer already suggested the new School and College have four representatives each. Branson suggested selecting Faculty Senators now, but DeOtte and Shao suggested waiting until later to decide. Ambrose suggested a compromise of three Senators from the new School until it becomes a College. Fiaud said the College of Agriculture and Sciences because it already is a College should have four representatives. Crandall moved that the new School of Engineering, Computer Science, and Mathematics should have three Faculty Senators for now. Commissiong and Blanton seconded the motion. Everyone but DeOtte, who abstained, voted in favor. DeOtte suggested staggered terms, with not every new Faculty Senator from the new School having a full three-year term, which was agreed on by the other Senators.

The Faculty Senators selected faculty members to fill vacancies on the following university standing committees:

Alcohol and Other Drugs – Danielle Flanagan, Emily Hammer, Leslie Williams Campus Beautification Advisory - Ashley Campbell

Curriculum – Arun Ghosh (AS), Jovana Vukovic (ESS), Jean Stuntz (FAH), Marietta Branson (NHS)

Diversity - Elsa Diego-Medrano

Faculty Development – Lal Almas and Stephen Karanganis (AS), Andrea Finchum (BUSI), Jeb Collins (ECSM), Emily Kinsky and Amy Von Lintel (FAH)

Faculty Emeritus – Carolyn Bouma (AS), Gerald Chen (ECSM), Yvette Castillo (ESS), Kris Kuhlmann (NHS)

Faculty Handbook – Bill Ambrose

Freshman Convocation – Bridget Guerrero (AS), Leslie Ramos Salazar (BUSI), Noel Clifton (NHS)

Grievance (Student) - Lance Baker (AS), Turkan Dursun-Kilic (BUSI)

Guest Artist Series - Ryan Mattson

Honors Council – Ian Strachan (BUSI), Nathan Howell (ECSM), Beth Garcia (ESS), Collette Loftin (NHS)

Information Technology – Marty Rhoades (AS), Anand Commissiong (ESS), Lisa Robinson (NHS)

Instructional Technology – Kevin Williams (AS), Marietta Branson (NHS) Intercollegiate Athletic Council – Amanda Love (AS), Jeff Doty (FAH), Kris Kuhlmann (NHS)

Jack B. Kelley Student Center Advisory - Chad Holliday

Parking – Kevin Williams (AS), Sharon Burnett (BUSI), Ken Leitch (ECSM), Henry Poduthase (ESS), Nick Scales (FAH), Carol Harkins (NHS)

Sick Leave Pool Review - Terri Bingham

Student Endowment Scholarship - Bonnie Pendleton (AS)

Student Fee Advisory – Crystal Hughes

Student Honors – Kristina Gill (ECSM), Lance Hadley (NHS)

University Library – Gregory McGovern (AS), Don Clewett (ECSM), Oscar Santos-Sopeno (FAH)

University Services – Trent McEvers (AS), Oliver Mulamba (ECSM), Billy Blodgett (ESS), Lance Hadley (NHS)

Web Advisory - Jeremy Lewis

Stuntz, Klaehn, and DeOtte nominated faculty for the Magister Optimus Award. The Senators voted by secret ballot for the winner. The name of the winner will be kept secret until announced at the all-university meeting at the beginning of the Fall semester.

Ambrose said Jim Rogers will apply for Regents Professor.

Stuntz moved and Commissiong seconded that Faculty Senate offer a resolution honoring Dr. B. Leigh Browning for her service to the university, Faculty Senate, and the larger community. All the Senators voiced their approval.

The meeting of Faculty Senate was adjourned at 2:02 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Bonnie & Pendleton Bonnie B. Pendleton, Secretary

These minutes were approved at the 7 May 2015 meeting of Faculty Senate.